Because It’s Complicated

project-365-fall-seven-20100609

Because it’s who we are but wish it wasn’t
Because I was too afraid to make the leap                                                                                                                                                                                         Because I wonder still what might have been
Because I had to learn these lessons, even if I didn’t know it                                                                                                                                                           Because I wasn’t full grown yet

 

Because I couldn’t be what you wanted me to be
Because I didn’t want to be, not yet
Because I would have given you all that I was
Because it was too much but not enough

Because when you asked I said “I’m fine” but I wasn’t.
Because you wouldn’t have understood                                                                                                                                                                                        Because if you did, there was nothing you could do about it.
Because I didn’t want to fight, not for you, not for me
Because this time it really was me not you.

Because there was a time when I had no regret and that time is long gone
Because sadness is regret personified                                                                                                                                                                                          Because when I wanted you, you were no longer mine to have
Because I want you to be happy, even if it’s not with me
Because I hope that in time it will be me
Because my happiness is bound to you, even if it means you hurt a little
Because its complicated

Leave a Reply

