Art, life and happiness

At times a reblog says it best. The following image is from  one of my favorite web artists, Gavin Aung Than, known to most as Zen Pencils and it expresses an idea that doesn’t quite exist anymore – the simple satisfaction with life and what you’re doing. I saw this entry and I sent it to my mother, a little passive aggressive gesture after we’d had a spat a while back on ambition and leadership. I too want to make great art, appreciate the things around me and am not so concerned with climbing the corporate ladder. It’s not for me but there are enough people out there who it works for and that’s the point made in this comic; do what works for you.  Gavin has some pretty poignant things to say too (here is the link) about the piece and what drove him to not only quote that particular line from Bill Watterson but what Calvin and Hobbes meant to him. Like him, I also found Calvin and Hobbes not only beautiful but also eye-opening.

Courtesy of Zen Pencils- follow the link for the original plus commentary by the Artist

Courtesy of Zen Pencils- follow the link for the original plus commentary by the Artist

 

Leave a Reply

