Lost One

“Lost One” – Sly Fox

Uh, uh, uh, uh
It’s not a dis song, it’s just a real song
Feel me?

I head em say that walls have ears
Walls say, “you wish this were you”
They just missed it, lost it
So I took my marching orders
I should’ve have stood my ground but I been in a daze though
I put friends over RAG though
But when friends, RAG interests as they go
Ain’t nothing much more to say though
I guess you misunderstood what we were about
Should have left when the memories where still good
It all got rancid
It was all so disappointing
It was about time I let go
Fox have to get this visionless shit up of him
All I sought was to fix things
Niggaz is brainless to unnecessarily go through these changes
I know all about how we came to this
Power corrupts they say
We lost touch of what we were
Respect, shunted out the door
When you could look in the mirror like, “there we are”
And still not see, what we’ve become
I know I’m guilty of it too but, not like you
You lost one

[Chorus w/ Marsha (Jay-Z)]
Lose one, let go to get one
Left one, lose some to win some (You lost one)
Story of a champion, sorry I’m a champion
You lost one

I don’t know what this is, is
She seems to be, be in split minds
And honestly, looking at me
I would probably be quite reserved about me
So we, ain’t we
It’s me, and her
Cause she unsure, afraid to trust
And that’s, where we, differ
So I have to give her
Time to see, all I can be
So it shall be, Iz, there you go
You’’ have all you need, time and space
All my laundry, to dispose
And me? I cleaned up my act
So I have to allow she, her, time to observe
The time’s now for her
In time she’ll know
And maybe we, can be, we, what we wish we were
Finally, I ain’t always going to be here
And having to ask her at all, it aint fair

So yeah, she lost one
Lose one, let go to get one
Left one, lose some to win some (Oh yeah, she lost one)
Story of a champion, sorry I’m a champion
You lost one

Another brother became more than just thought
How many more till I’m fraught
Close my eyes and squeeze, it all comes to nought
About time we found out, ain’t the end
Time don’t go back, it go forward
Can’t run from the pain, go towards it
Some things can be explained, old man you a dog
Such a beautiful soul, so pure shit
Gonna see another, I’m sure of it
‘til that time, old man I’m nauseous
How many more the lord’s gifts?
Almost lost my faith, that confirmed it
It’s like having your life restarted
Too late to be a child, to be a part of em
So now I go on, been to long since I found out
Always knew, been too long since I lost it

Lose one, let go to get one
Left one, lose some to win some (Old man Hardy, I lost one)
Sorry I’m a champion, Old man, you’re no champion
You lost one

 

 

Lost One - Sly Fox

A comparison between the Original ‘Lost One’ by Jay-Z and my own…

Leave a Reply

